UNESCO-Global Action Program “Education for Sustainable Development” (2015–2019)

After completing the UN-decade it has become clear that all educational systems approach this topic reluctantly. Despite many achievements the different projects and actions still lack a long term implementation on a structural basis. Due to this fact and to continue the current results, the United Nations decided to start the Global Action Program “ESD”.

A detailed roadmap has been developed to explain the objectives and main areas of activity of this program. These fields of action were identified as those who promote the ESD:

  • Political support
  • Holistic transformation of learning and teaching environments
  • Competence development among teachers and multipliers
  • Strengthening and mobilizing the youth
  • Promoting sustainable development on a local level


You can find all information about the UNESCO Global Action Program and its implementation in Germany on the BNE-Portal.


UN-Decade „Education for Sustainable Development“ (2005–2014)

unescoThe proclaimed goal of the United Nations Decade was to anchor the principle of a sustainable development in all areas of education. Funded and supported by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, the German Commission for UNESCO undertook this task for Germany. During the decade numerous actors and organizations contributed to the achievement of this objective.

In March 2009 the World Conference at the halfway point of the Decade took place in Bonn. In the final declaration, the universities were once again reminded to meet their responsibilities and include competences for sustainable development in their educational goals. In 2010 the German Rectors’ Conference and the German Commission for UNESCO called in a joint statement on the universities to actively promote the integration of sustainability as a topic in research and teaching.

The UN-Decade of 2005–2014 has brought Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) into focus and made the emergence of many projects in this area possible. Meanwhile ESD receives increasing recognition on international level as an essential part of a quality-oriented education and a key factor for sustainable development.

 

 

BMBF Logo

UNESCO-Weltaktionsprogramm „Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung“ (2015-2019)

Mit Abschluss der UN-Dekade ist deutlich geworden, dass alle Bildungssysteme dieses Thema nur sehr zögerlich übernehmen. Es wurde viel erreicht, die strukturelle Verstetigung der einzelnen Projekte und Maßnahmen in der Bildung blieb jedoch größtenteils aus. Aufgrund dieser Tatsache und um auf die bisherigen Ergebnisse aufzubauen, haben sich die Vereinten Nationen dazu entschieden, ein Weltaktionsprogramm „BNE“ anzuschließen.
Für die konkrete Umsetzung des Weltaktionsprogramms (WAP) wurde eine detaillierte Roadmap entwickelt, die die Ziele und die wichtigsten Handlungsfelder des Programms erklärt. Diese Handlungsfelder wurden als diejenigen identifiziert, die BNE voranbringen:

• Politische Unterstützung,
• ganzheitliche Transformation von Lern- und Lehrumgebungen,
• Kompetenzentwicklung bei Lehrenden und Multiplikatoren,
• Stärkung und Mobilisierung der Jugend,
• Förderung nachhaltiger Entwicklung auf lokaler Ebene.

Alle Informationen zum UNESCO-Weltaktionsprogramm und dessen Umsetzung in Deutschland finden Sie auf dem BNE-Portal.


UN-Dekade „Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung“ (2005-2014)

unescoDas Ziel der von den Vereinten Nationen ausgerufenen Dekade war es, das Leitbild einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung in alle Bildungsbereiche zu verankern. Mit Förderung des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) übernahm die Deutsche UNESCO-Kommission diese Aufgabe für Deutschland. Im Laufe der Dekade leisteten zahlreiche Akteure und Organisationen Beiträge zur Zielerreichung.

Auf der Weltkonferenz zur Halbzeit der UN-Dekade im März 2009 in Bonn wurde in der Abschlusserklärung noch einmal betont, dass gerade auch Hochschulen ihrer Verantwortung gerecht werden müssen und Kompetenzen für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung in ihre Bildungsziele aufnehmen sollten. In einer gemeinsamen Erklärung haben die Hochschulrektorenkonferenz und die Deutsche UNESCO-Kommission Anfang 2010 die Hochschulen noch einmal aufgefordert, sich aktiv für eine Integration des Nachhaltigkeitsthemas in Forschung und Lehre einzusetzen.

Die UN-Dekade von 2005–2014 hat erreicht, dass Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung (BNE) in den Fokus gerückt ist und die Entstehung von vielen Projekten in diesem Bereich ermöglicht wurde. Mittlerweile wird BNE international immer stärker als wesentlicher Bestandteil einer qualitätsorientierten Bildung und als Schlüsselfaktor für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung anerkannt.

 

 

BMBF Logo